You are here: Home / Living in Brussels / Health and safety / Police service

Police service

Presentation of the police zones of the Brussels-Capital Region

Police zones

Formerly managed by the communes, the police service was restructured in January 2001. Belgium was split into 196 police zones, also known as inter-police zones or by the French acronym ZIP.
There are six police zones in the Brussels-Capital Region. Each one covers several communes and has its own police regulations:

Location of the police zones

The website over local authorities in Brussels provides detailed information on the police zones in Brussels (FR/NL) and allows you to locate them.
Any questions about this website