You are here: Home / About the Region / Regional bodies / Bruxelles Environnement-IBGE

Bruxelles Environnement-IBGE

Bruxelles Environnement is the public service responsible for the environment and energy at the Brussels-Capital Region. It is tasked with conducting research, planning and providing advice on environmental issues.
Bruxelles Environnement is tasked with conducting research, planning and providing advice on environmental issues. It also helps the authorities and businesses in Brussels to develop environmental plans.

Bruxelles Environnement manages various environmental themes for the Brussels-Capital Region, including air, water, waste, ground, green space and biodiversity, health and environment, animal welfare, noise, energy, and eco-mobility.

It provides its services in response to the following tasks:

Information and awareness

  • Information on air quality in Brussels (pollution meter)
  • Measures with regard to ambient and other noise in Brussels
  • Information and publications on the environment and green spaces in Brussels
  • Environmental awareness-raising among the general public, in schools and businesses (Entreprise Ecodynamique label) 

Planning and support

  • Drawing up sector plans for managing and preventing waste, dealing with noise nuisances, managing the Forêt de Soignes (Sonian Forest), as well as Air and Climate plans
  • Development and management of green spaces (including the Forêt de Soignes in the Brussels-Capital Region)
  • Help to businesses with regard to environmental obligations

Environmental permit and inspection

  • Granting environmental permits, approvals and certificates
  • Monitoring compliance with environmental legislation


Bruxelles Environnement-IBGE
Tour & Taxis
Avenue du Port 86C/3000, 1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 (0)2 775 75 11
Info Encironment service: +32 (0)2 775 75 75
Online: (FR/NL)

Legal basis

The Institut Bruxellois pour la Gestion de l'Environnement (IBGE) was created by the Royal Decree of 8 March 1989 (published in Moniteur belge on 24 March 1989).

Information updated on 4 November 2020