City of Brussels

The City of Brussels is one of the largest communes of the Brussels-Capital Region.
The City of Brussels is the historical centre of the Brussels-Capital Region.


The City of Brussels covers 32.6 square kilometres and is made up of six entities:

  • Le Pentagone (city centre)
  • Laeken
  • Neder-over-Heembeek
  • Haren
  • Louise-Roosevelt southern axis
  • The European neighbourhood (Léopold, Schuman and the squares)

Le Pentagone, the old town of Brussels, is the territory within the boulevards of the inner ring roads. A large number of renovation projects are promoting the return of residents to these city centre neighbourhoods.

With the large territory of Laeken, the northern axis controls the adjoining zones comprising the industrial sites along Willebroeck canal. Laeken has developed as a residential centre ever since the 1935 International Exposition. That’s when the Grands Palais, the stadium, the Planetarium and the Centenaire and Heysel neighbourhoods were built. This semi-rural part of the City of Brussels combines the charms of the countryside with the advantages of the city.

The southern axis, out towards the Bois de la Cambre, on the boundary with Saint-Gilles and Uccle, is the third part of the territory, comprising Avenue Louise, which is studded with imposing townhouses and luxury boutiques.

Key figures

Statistical overview of the City of Brussels (FR/NL)

(Source: Institut Bruxellois de Statistique et d'Analyse - IBSA)

General contact details of the communal administration

Boulevard Anspach 6, 1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 (0)2 279 22 11

Police zone 5339

The City of Brussels is part of police zone Brussels-Capital Ixelles, which comprises divisions with stations and duty services.


Rue Haute 298 A, 1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 (0)2 543 61 11
Online: (FR/NL)

Information updated on 12 January 2021

Any questions about this website